The flag of Aruba consists of four equal-size rectangles, two blue and two yellow, arranged in a horizontal line. The top-left and bottom-right rectangles are blue, while the top-right and bottom-left rectangles are yellow. In the center of the flag, there is a white-fimbriated red star with a black outline.

The blue rectangles on the flag represent the sea and sky, which are an important part of Aruba’s culture and economy. The yellow rectangles symbolize the island’s gold industry, as well as the sun and the warmth of its people. The star in the center of the flag represents Aruba itself, as well as the island’s status as a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

The current design of the Aruban flag was adopted on March 18, 1976, when Aruba gained its status as an autonomous country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The flag was designed by a local Aruban named Betico Croes, who was a political leader in the movement for Aruban autonomy.