The flag of Ecuador is comprised of three horizontal bands of yellow, blue, and red, with the national coat of arms in the center of the flag’s height. The yellow band at the top represents the country’s abundance of sunlight, grain, and mineral wealth. The blue band represents the ocean and the clear skies of Ecuador, while the red band at the bottom represents the blood shed by the country’s heroes in the struggle for independence. The coat of arms in the center of the flag features a condor, a species of bird that is native to the Andean region of South America, and a representation of the Chimborazo volcano. Surrounding the shield are the flags of the provinces of Ecuador, which represent the country’s unity.