The flag of Uruguay features nine horizontal stripes in alternate white and blue colors. The top left corner of the flag contains a golden sun with a human face. The sun is also known as the Sun of May, representing the May Revolution of 1810 that led to the independence of many South American countries, including Uruguay. The stripes on the flag represent the nine original provinces of Uruguay. The blue stripes represent the sky and freedom, while the white stripes represent peace and pureness.