There are two countries similarly named: the Republic of Congo (also known as Congo-Brazzaville) and the DRC (also known as Congo-Kinshasa)

The flag of the Republic of Congo features a diagonal stripe dividing the flag into two equal triangles. The upper triangle is green and the lower triangle is red. There is a yellow, five-pointed star in the center of the flag. The green stripe represents the agricultural wealth of the country. The red stripe represents the blood shed by martyrs in the struggle for independence. The yellow star represents the country’s bright future.

The flag of the DRC features a sky blue field. It includes a yellow and red diagonal stripe running from the lower hoist-side corner to the upper fly-side corner. In the center of the flag, there is a large, yellow, five-pointed star. The blue field represents peace and hope. The yellow stripe represents the country’s wealth, while the red stripe symbolizes the blood of the martyrs who died fighting for independence.