The flag of the Dominican Republic features a white cross that divides the flag into four quarters. The top and bottom quarters are blue, while the left and right quarters are red. In the center of the white cross, there is a coat of arms that depicts a shield with a Bible and a cross on it, surrounded by an olive branch on the left and a palm branch on the right.

Above the shield, there is a blue ribbon with the national motto, “Dios, Patria, Libertad” (God, Country, Freedom). Below the shield, there is a green ribbon with the name of the country, “República Dominicana” (Dominican Republic). The blue color represents liberty, while the red color represents the blood of the country’s heroes. The white cross symbolizes the sacrifice of those who have died for the nation. The shield with the Bible and the cross on it represents the nation’s religious faith.