The flag of Ecuador comprises three horizontal bands of yellow, blue, and red, with the national coat of arms positioned at the center of the flag’s height. The yellow band at the top represents the country’s abundance of sunlight, grain, and mineral wealth. The blue band represents the ocean and the clear skies of Ecuador. The red band at the bottom represents the blood shed by the country’s heroes in the struggle for independence.

The flag’s central coat of arms features a native Andean condor, representing the South American Andean region’s wildlife. It also includes a representation of the Chimborazo volcano. Surrounding the shield are the flags of the provinces of Ecuador, which represent the country’s unity.