The flag of El Salvador consists of three horizontal stripes – a blue stripe at the top and bottom, with a white stripe in the middle. In the center of the white stripe is the national coat of arms, which features a triangle with the words “Republica de El Salvador” in gold letters, surrounded by five blue and five white stars representing the original five provinces of the country.

Above the triangle is a golden sun with a face, and below it is a green laurel wreath. The blue stripes represent the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea, while the white stripe represents peace. The coat of arms and stars represent the country’s independence and solidarity with other Central American nations.