The flag of the Federated States of Micronesia consists of a light blue field with four white five-pointed stars arranged in a diamond pattern. The blue represents the Pacific Ocean, which surrounds the islands of Micronesia. Each of the four stars symbolizes one of the four states that make up the federation. These states are Chuuk, Kosrae, Pohnpei, and Yap. The arrangement of the stars reflects the geographical distribution of these states in relation to each other.

The flag’s design embodies the unity and cooperation among the four states. They work together towards a common future while honoring their Pacific heritage and identity.